Tags

, , , , , , ,


Ha Long Bay

View Of Ha Long Bay

In mid of 2008 I had a chance to visit Vietnam. Because of the limited time (and fund) I have to choose between Ho Chi Minh or Ha Noi. I choose Ha Noi because just a week before the visit my friend mentioned Ha Long bay, which happens to be located at Ha Noi, and upon googling I found that the place is quite fascinating. And the most important, its cheaper.

Being a poor traveler, of course I flew by budget airliner and the consequences is that I arrived almost midnight. I stay at Old Quarter, in one of the cheapest hotel I can find online. Turns out the hotel is quite good and the staff are nice bunches, so USD25 a night is money well spent.

Morning Sight At Old Quarter

Morning Sight At Old Quarter

Old Quarter is living up to its name. This place is indeed old, and still have a strong sense of tradition. I felt like living in an old kung fu movie, and I love it.

Back to the hotel, I booked  a tour package to visit Ha Long bay. For USD25, I can have a full day tour. I was about to choose the cheapest one (USD12.50) but I thought spending a bit more is not  bad idea.

The tours began at 6:30 am, all the tour attendant rode a bus for around 3 hours from old quarter to Ha Long bay. And then another one hour on a boat, before finally arrived at the Ha Long bay. And it is indeed fascinating place.

Another View of Ha Long Bay

Another View of Ha Long Bay

Up to that point , I would say my 25 bucks is worth the weight of its every penny in gold. I felt that my purpose of visit is accomplished, I don’t even care what the tour guide said. Hence the lack of photo explanation.

A Cave At Ha Long Bay

A Cave At Ha Long Bay

After strolling around for around 5 hours, the tour came to its end, and we rode back to Old Quarter.

Oh, that tour only covers a little bit of what Ha Long bay can offer. For more money anyone can choose some better tour packages. But anyway, this one is more than good enough for me, so I have no interest for tour with more coverage.

Gears used to take the photographs:

  • Nikon D5000
  • Nikon 18-55mm DX
  • Tokina 11-16mm ATX-Pro

More photos on the next article.

