Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Vietnamese Wedding

One thing I noticed of Old Quarter, It’s such a great place for street photography.

I don’t really fancy street photography. Well, as a matter of fact, I hate most of modern street photography – they’re more like “take a photo of anything you can find on the street”.  Only small percentage of photos under street photography category on Flickr that I found having a strong story. That being said, I also don’t have the talent to capture a good one.

However, the scenes were too good to ignore so I try to capture some of those moments. Not really successful I would say.

I took this one while wandering aimlessly. Wow, its is so generic haha, sepia effect is really overdone. Better photographer will capture that moment better. If you are into this kind of scene, you’ll be happy at Old Quarter.

Old Quarter - Your Average Street Photography Wannabe, Contains All The Cliche

Old Quarter – Your Average Street Photography Wannabe, Contains All The Cliche

The hotel I was staying at is located somewhat in the middle of a morning market. I was surprised when I walk outside and find all these people doing transaction. I was not expecting that because when I arrive for the first time, the place is so empty (well it was almost midnight).

At The Market

At The Market

Banana Vendor

Banana Vendor

After not so successful attempt of street photography on the market, I went to visit Hoan Kiem lake. The place was a bit crowded but still had nice calm feels on it.

Take A Rest At The Lakeside

Take A Rest At The Lakeside

Interesting enough, I saw many senior citizen there. What I like about them is they really looks like enjoying their time, happy, and worry free. As you know, Vietnam had some rough time, so to see these happy people is really touching to me.

Happy Ever After

Happy Ever After

Scene From A Memory

Scene From A Memory

So the conclusions is: Old Quarter is a nice place and I’m still suck at street photography.

Photographs were taken with:
– Nikon D5000 Camera
– Nikon 18-55mm DX (the kit lens)

